In this busy day and age, moms with busy lives and kids who are involved after school activities need to be able to balance life in all areas. Let’s face life today is nothing like it was in the 70’s and 80’s when some or most of us at least had a mom who was able to stay home and focus on the kids, home and activities. Mom’s back in the day were able to keep things balanced (not sure how they managed, but they did) and they in my eyes seemed to have that whole supermom thing down. As a wife and mother of four kids, I know firsthand how tough it can be to balance work, kids, homework, after school events and still be able to cook balanced meals in a timely manner. As a working mom I realized long ago that I needed to establish some type of balance in order to keep my sanity.

I have a few tips that I’d like to share with the busy moms and dads on the go that you may find helpful when it comes to preparing dinner for the week ahead. As times are indeed tougher and due to that fact most households require that both parents work full time jobs. Something that proved very helpful for me was to prepare my meals for the week. I usually spend my Sunday preparing meals for the rest of the week. Now for those who are like “I don’t want to spend my whole day cooking”, believe me I understand how you feel. Meals don’t have to take hours and hours to prepare. It’s up to you but there are lots of meal ideas that you can cook for your family that are quick, healthy and tasty. Depending on your schedule you can also break up your cooking into a couple of days. Once you have your meals prepared put them in a freezer bag and freeze them.

Every morning you can just take a meal out of the freezer and put it in the refrigerator for later. Trust me this is going to save you a tremendous amount of time and allow you the extra time to spend doing other things whether it is family time, reading a book, catching up on some tasks that you’ve been neglecting to do take care of or whatever it may be. This has been a lifesaver for me because at the end of a busy day of work, karate class, basketball practice and other events, the last thing I want to do is think about is cooking dinner. When you have your meals prepared in advance, all you need to do is warm up your food and dinner is served!

Meal Tips for the Busy Mom on the Go